## St'át'imc (PC) 2011 Trust Joint SCC/Trustees Minutes of Meeting May 1, 2012 Vancouver Deloitte Office

To: Nation Trustees

Trish Andrew Raquel Kane
Ernest Armann Vanessa Mountain
Cecille Comeau Linda O'Donaghey
Steve Doss Harold Peters
Florence Jack Megan Thorne

**Deloitte & Touche LLP** 

Lisa Ethans
Laura Clarkson
Shelly Ryan
T.E. Wealth
Jack Jamieson
Lana Eagle

Johanne Plamondon

**SCC Attendees** 

Chief Arthur Adolph Xaxli'p Chief Michelle Edwards Sekw'elw'as Chief Don Harris Xa'xtsa Chief Garry John Tsal'álh Tribal Chief Shelly Leech T'it'aet Councilor Mel Patrick N'Quatqua Councilor William Schneider Samahquam Chief Robert Shintah Ts'kw'aylaxw **Chief Patrick Williams** Skatin

**Absent** 

Grand Chief Saul Terry, Xwisten

8:30 am The meeting opened with a prayer by Chief Art Adolph.

## **Updating Chiefs and Councillors on Community Comprehensive Planning (CCP)**

The Administrative Trustee updated the Chiefs and Councillors on the Trustees' plan to request a proposal from EcoPlan International and Colleen Jacob (working together) to put on an information session in September on CCP. The Chiefs present were all in favour of this but the determined the date of September 14<sup>th</sup> established by the Trustees was in conflict with another meeting. It was agreed that the session would be changed to September 11<sup>th</sup>. The Administrative Trustee agreed to complete the following prior to the meeting:

- Contact EcoPlan International/Colleen Jacob to obtain a joint proposal
- Provide guestions to Chief and Council in advance
- Advise EcoPlan International/Colleen Jacob that the day would be to:
  - o Provide general information on CCP
  - Chart where the community is the process
  - Look at priorities of each Community and establish individual versus joint priorities
  - Where there are joint priorities, discuss how to move these forward

## **Investment Manager Presentations**

T.E. Wealth created an evaluation scorecard, a copy of which is attached. The Chiefs/Councils scorecard results were:

Results from Ranking	Beutel	Foyston	Barrantagh	Mawer
Councillor Mel Patrick	1	3	1	4
Chief Art Adolph	1	3	2	4
Chief Patrick Williams	3	1	4	2
Chief Robert Shintah	3	4	2	1
Councillor William Schneider	4	2	3	1
Chief Tribal Shelly Leech	3	2	1	4
Chief Don Harris	4	1	3	2
Chief Garry John	4	1	2	3
Chief Michelle Edwards	2	4	1	3
Lisa Ethans	3	2	4	1
Combined Ranking from Trustees	3	1	1	2

<sup>1&</sup>lt;sup>st</sup> Presentation was by Beutel Goodman (Steven Smith & Stephen Clements)

<sup>2&</sup>lt;sup>nd</sup> Presentation was by Foyston Gordon Payne (Stephen Copeland & Mark Klinkow)

<sup>3&</sup>lt;sup>rd</sup> Presentation was by Barrantagh (Wally Kusters & Robert Cruickshank)

<sup>4&</sup>lt;sup>th</sup> Presentation was by Mawer Investments (Steven Visscher)

## The Trustees scorecard results were:

Results from Trustees	Beutel	Foyston	Barrantagh	Mawer
Vanessa Mountain	1	2	3	4
Ernest Armann	4	2	1	3
Steve Doss	1	4	2	3
Linda O'Donaghey	3	1	2	4
Megan Thorne	3	1	2	4
Harold Peters	1	3	2	3
Florence Jack	3	2	1	4
Raquel Kane	3	2	1	4
Cecille Comeau	1	3	2	4
Trish Andrews	3	4	1	2
Combined Ranking from Trustees	3	2	1	4

The Combined Ranking from the Chiefs, Councillors and Trustees were:

Evaluation Factors	% Weight	Beutel	Foyston	Barrantagh	Mawer
1) Risk Adjusted Performance	20	4	4	3	5
2) SRI Flexibility (Seg/Pools)	14	3.7	4	4.35	2.8
3) Service Team: Impressions	12	3.95	3.65	4.4	2.3
4) Fees	10	4	5	4	4.5
CUSTOMIZATION					
5) Support to Community	8	4.23	3.8	4.05	3.1
6) Philosophy	8	4.05	3.8	4.05	2.9
7) Resettlement Options	8	3.4	4.4	4.25	2.9
8) Protection of MPA	8	3.8	3.9	3.9	3.15
OTHER MISC.					
9) Firm Stability	6	4.5	3.8	4.2	4
10) First Nation Experience	6	4.45	3.1	4.3	4.2
Total	100%	79%	80%	79%	71%

Once the voting had concluded the Chiefs and Councillors present were asked to leave the meeting in order that the Trustees could make a decision on the Investment Manager to be selected.

Given the Combined Ranking results were statistically the same for three of the parties, a further discussion ensued. After much debate, the Trustees agreed on Barrantagh, largely due to:

- More return per unit of risk
- Less volatility
- 100% Canadian Owned Company
- The Partners of the Company were servicing the Trust Account

However, engaging Barrantagh would be subject to a lower cost scale and Wally Kusters being visible to the Trustees. Should Barrantagh not agree then Foyston Gordon Payne would be selected.

being visible to the Trust. Alternatively, if Barrantagh doesn't agree to these points, Foyston Gordon and Payne will be selected. **Motioned by Ernest Armann** Seconded by Linda O'Donaghey All Trustees in favour. Motion carried. There being no further matters to discuss the meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm. Lisa Ethans, Administrative Trustee Approved by the Trustees of the St'át'imc (PC) 2011 Trust: Trish Andrew Raquel Kane **Ernest Armann** Vanessa Mountain Cecille Comeau Linda O'Donaghey Steven Doss Harold Peters Florence Jack Megan Thorne Date

A motion was made to engage Barrantagh subject to reduced costs and Wally Kusters